New Jersey Residency Requirement Law, AKA “New Jersey First Act”
“If you want to work in New Jersey and have your salary paid by the taxpayers, you’ll have to live here, too,” said Senator Norcross. “This bill will ensure that public workers live by the rules they enforce, and pay into the tax system that pays their salaries and supports their benefits.”
The New Jersey Residency Law states that any employees hired September 1st, 2011 or after, are required to live in the State of New Jersey. The law requires all public employees who work in New Jersey to reside in New Jersey. This includes all public school employees. All new employees hired after September 1, 2011 who live out of state are required to relocate to NJ within 1 year. In addition, any employee that chooses to relocate out of state after September 1st, 2011, will be required to move back to NJ within 1 year. If you are not in compliance with this law, you will lose your employment.
Employees who were hired prior to September 1st, 2011 and already lived out of state are exempt from the residency requirement. If you lived out of state as of the effective date of the law and wish to move to another address within that state, you are still exempt as long as you have held your position without a break of employment for greater than 7 days.
There is a process for employees facing extreme hardship or other extraordinary circumstances to seek an exemption from the residency requirement by petitioning a five-member committee established under the law.
For more specific information…
• Residency Requirements for Public Employees, click here.
• Frequently Asked Questions, click here.
• NJ State Civil Service Commission: (609) 292-1700